My first Golden Eagle

A recent walk resulted in me capturing my first image (and I’ll be the first to admit that it’s crap) of a Golden Eagle. I had just stopped off for a bit of lunch just below the top of a hill, I had no intention of going all the way up as I was heading elsewhere but I heard a few bird calls and decided after my cold steak slice I would investigate. My bird recognition is useless, audible and visual so any links to audible would be appreciated. Anyway once I reach the summit I instantly recognise a bird of prey patrolling they sky so I get myself into a position where I can get some shots off with the Q10 with the ef adapter on and my 70-200mm lens…absolutely no chance, I would need three hands at least to operate the camera and lens as it’s all manual in this setup and trying to track a bird in flight, jeezo what a pain in the ass that is! So the 70-200 goes on to the 550d and I move a bit closer but still not close enough for any decent images as you can see below where I’ve had to crop in a lot and over edit to reveal any detail…but still, my first Golden Eagle 🙂
image

On the way I also captured this Buzzard but the more I look at it I think it may be a Hen Harrier, if anyone else has can confirm please do so.
image

Whilst I have grown really fond of the Q10 it really failed miserably on this shoot, so much so that it has found itself on a well known auction website lol with my eyes on a better zoom lens or alternative.

Entering these images into Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Let’s Go Fly A Kite where she give you lyrics from a song and you are to create an image from those lyrics, see below.

With tuppence for paper and strings, You can have your own set of wings, With your feet on the ground, You’re a bird in a flight, With your fist holding tight, To the string of your kite. Oh, oh, oh! Let’s go fly a kite, Up to the highest height! Let’s go fly a kite and send it soaring, Up through the atmosphere, Up where the air is clear, Oh, let’s go fly a kite!

As you can see I opted for the words You’re a bird in flight part.

2 responses to “My first Golden Eagle

Leave a comment